,
 
To receive your discount code please enter your email below






Shop by Price
Free Shipping
featured products
products
Return to Eat Good Things Everyday
Sort By::
Page of 1


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
It s hard not to fall for this charming cookbook f March 11, 2010
Reviewer: Waitrose Magazine from Republic of Ireland  
It s hard not to fall for this charming cookbook for its title alone. The mostly short recipes are based on those served by Somers at her Good Things Caf  in West Cork  and include lots of light  wheat free suppers  many of which are freezable

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Nurture your family cooking JOHN McKENNA For December 8, 2009
Reviewer: John McKenna The Irish Times from Republic of Ireland  
Nurture your family cooking    JOHN McKENNA    Forget the pizza and the white bread  we need good food  so let s it hear it for the humble cabbage  rhubarb and peas  and for the women of Cork who have turned cookery into nurturing    WHEN IT comes to cooking  Cork is the women s county. Elsewhere in Ireland  professional cookery is a man s world  but in Cork  ever since Myrtle Allen opened Ballymaloe House a full 45 years ago and began to cook for dinner guests  Cork has been a stronghold of women s food.    From east to west and in the city  women are not just participants in kitchens: they are the major players  and their work has defined what modern cookery is throughout the county.    Does this gender distinction matter? I think it does  and for a simple reason. Women in working kitchens tend to cook with a different outlook than male chefs. In my view  male chefs want to demonstrate competence and mastery of the art  but women  by and large  just want to feed you.    And women draw on different influences when it comes to cooking. Their influences are likely to be as much domestic as professional. I was struck  for example  listening to Myrtle Allen launching the first cookbook by the chef Carmel Somers  of the celebrated Good Things Caf  in West Cork  to hear Mrs Allen talk of how  in the pre penicillin days of diphtheria and whooping cough and polio   my mother always said that good food would keep us healthy  and that was why it was so important to have access to good food .    That is  fundamentally  a nurturing concept  and what Myrtle Allen has done  in inspiring the generation and a half of Cork female chefs who have come after her  is to legitimise this nurturing as a fundamental part of any food experience. Good food is not just about getting access to someone s wealth: it is actually about getting access to their health.    When Carmel Somers herself spoke at the book launch  she emphasised this element even more starkly.     Flippy bread [her name for white sliced loaves] should only ever be a treat. Pizza should only be a treat at Christmas. We have got to feed our children with good food.     Her book  Eat Good Things Every Day   is a particularly potent and practical manifesto of how to do just that. It is an unusual book  in that it is both practical and polemical:  Microwaves   should be banned  as they ruin food    Butter tastes pure. Margarine tastes horrible and the flavour is never masked in cooking.   Use by dates   don t always trust them.     If the book is refreshingly unusual in being so iconoclastic  it is refreshing also to see a book that has lots of recipes for cabbage  rhubarb  braised peas  Brussels sprouts and cheap cuts of meat.    This is true family food  and I know from the last time I wrote about feeding kids just how big an area of concern this is for so many working families.    Ms Somers presents her recipes as weekly plans  following on from a small amount of weekend prep in the kitchen  and a list of necessary ingredients to get you through the week s cooking without exhausting you with complicated cooking that you simply don t have time to achieve. It s a book that accepts that we are human  and that we need to be nurtured  and it gets you there in the most practical  and delicious  way.    Forty years separate Myrtle Allen and Carmel Somers  but that gap of time is irrelevant because both have benefited from  and learnt the fundamental lessons of  the Women s County of Cooking. Chief among those lessons is the fact that food is the pivotal social glue of our society  and that is a lesson we need to remember  particularly  as we face into the rituals of Christmas.    If you are already stressed by the prospect of feeding the extended family  remember that food isn t about extreme skills  and it isn t about demonstrating superhuman competence. It is about nurturing people s health and bringing them together around the table. Remember what Carmel Somers writes about feeding children:  They love trying new things and being involved in the cooking and preparing of the meal  including setting the table  especially if there is a candle to light      So  even if you don t have the good fortune to live in the Women s County  absorb the lessons of these wise women  especially at Christmas. Light the candle  and take it from there.    Eat Good Things Every Day   by Carmel Somers  is published by Atrium  www.corkuniversitypress.com  John McKenna is a food critic and writer. He is co author of The Bridgestone Guides which aim to provide independent guides to Ireland s food culture. www.bridgestoneguides.com

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Proprietor of the Good Things Caf in west Cork C December 8, 2009
Reviewer: Food Wine Magazine from Republic of Ireland  
Proprietor of the Good Things Caf  in west Cork  Carmel Somers brings us 90 recipes for everyday cooking at home  with seasonal menu s for both summer and winter  along with recipes to prepare every night for eight weeks  and tips for planning week to week  you will never be stuck for ideas again.  F W loves coconut chicken with spices and herbs  page 151

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
We re staying in and entertaining at home more tha December 8, 2009
Reviewer: Marie Claire Digby from Republic of Ireland  
We re staying in and entertaining at home more than ever this winter. So curl up with a good cookery book for inspiration. Here are some titles released in 2009.    EAT GOOD THINGS EVERY DAY     Carmel Somers  Atrium   39     Advance planning  disciplined shopping and an appreciation of local  seasonal ingredients are the main tenets of this book from Carmel Somers  proprietor of the Good Things Caf  and cookery school in Durrus  Co Cork.    This will appeal greatly to list makers and those who follow instructions to the T  but even those who prefer a more  off piste  approach to cooking will find plenty to like here. Snippets of backroom chat  such as how a visit from Darina Allen and a glut of duck wings became a cafe bestseller  are very engaging. Must cook Durrus cheese pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
No question that this is the best cookery book of December 8, 2009
Reviewer: John McKenna Bridgestone Guides from Republic of Ireland  
No question that this is the best cookery book of the year. Polemical  passionate  and beautifully photographed by John Carey  and the food eats beautifully

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Also just going into the book shops Carmel Somers December 8, 2009
Reviewer: Georgina Campbell from Republic of Ireland  
Also just going into the book shops  Carmel Somers  beautifully produced Eat Good Things Every Day  is an inspiring and brilliantly down to earth book; although not  yet  a household name Carmel  who is owner chef of the well named Good Things Caf    Cookery School at Durrus  Co Cork  is totally focused on making the best possible use of fresh seasonal produce   and this highly practical  time  and budget conscious book is all about being better organised and eating really well without waste: with once a week shopping lists  she gives recipes for eight weeks of daily meals   and  like the wonderful food served in her caf   it s healthy and flavoursome fare

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
I m delighted to hear that Carmel s book is about December 8, 2009
Reviewer: Darina Allen Ballymaloe House from Republic of Ireland  
I m delighted to hear that Carmel s book is about to hit the shelves.  This is the book I ve been waiting for. The book is an intriguing collection of recipes. Carmel Somers  food is a true celebration of the beautiful produce of the farmers  fishermen and artisan producers of West Cork

Was this review helpful to you?

   
 
 
Copyright ©  Cork University Press. All Rights Reserved.Built with Volusion